“When I was young my Father said the only two great professions in life were that of Policeman or a Fireman,” says John J. Rigo, Texas’ Poet and Commentator.

DSC_9468 TU copy

DSC_9468 TU copy. All ready to serve and protect.

My dear blogger friends, today’s post is based on the comments left on my “About” page by a great poet and a human being John J. Rigo, Texas’ Poet and Commentator (http://texaspoetry.net.). So rightfully, he recognizes and acknowledges the enormous impact of the generosity and caring attitude of Police Officers in his childhood. It surely is a pleasure to read these feelings of gratitude. Since I believe,  

“In recognizing the humanity of our fellow beings we pay ourselves the highest tribute.” Thurgood Marshall.

b9167a5c1d500eb31d0c2e3ec7b9ba81

Winner of the Collin County Texas’ Poetry Award, John J. Rigo

John J. Rigo, Texas’ Poet and Commentator (texaspoetry.net) says:

July 18, 2014 at 2:37 am (Edit)

“My greatest memories of police personnel is in Harlem, New York City as a child. My parents were very poor. Each Christmas, the Police organization of New York City “PAL” put on a free one day show for poor kids in the area with a two hour show, presents and candies. It was the only Christmas presents that my brother and I received for many years in my childhood. When I was young my Father said the only two great professions in life were that of fireman or a policeman. I was never neither, but always they held my admiration. One of my poetry works did involve the police personnel of the McKinney, Texas Police Department. Many of the men and woman printed the poem and carried it with them. It brought me great joy to learn of that.”

(This childhood experience of John J. Rigo highlights the kind nature and the spirit of giving of our Protectors. )

“Kindness is a magical spell-performed by enlightened beings-meant to enchant hearts and lift weary souls that they might fly.” Richelle E. Goodrich.

John J. Rigo, Texas’ Poet and Commentator further granted me permission to copy his poem and wrote, “The poem is in the heading of my blog site: http://texaspoetry.net. It is under a prayer to Saint Michael, the arc angel who is the saint of police, firefighters, emc personnel, and paratroopers. So I was told by the former police chief of the McKinney Police Department in Texas. You are welcomed to copy.”

image

“A Prayer to St. Michael, The Arch Angel” copyright 2009 by John J. Rigo, upcoming “Passion Amidst Apathy.”

Saint Michael
the Arch Angel
I come before you
a soul made in the image of our God and Lord.

Forgive this human form that I bring before you
which is but the temporary host of my soul.
I humbly ask you to be my Defender in overcoming
the temptations of the Devil that approach me each day
from my physical life on this earth.

Protect me and defend me so that I may bring
greater glory and worship to my God and Lord.
When death finally releases me from this world
be at my side as I approach the Lord of my future home.

I render you all my praise and joy in His name.
Oh Protector
that I wear about my neck each day
in rememberance of my prayer to you
keep me ever mindful of God’s Love for me.

155960.ME.0129.Grads.IK

155960.ME.0129.Grads.IK.

“The sole meaning of life is to serve humanity.” Leo Tolstoy.

(Thank you John J. Rigo (texaspoetry.net.) for sharing your personal childhood experience with us. I thank you for allowing me to copy your lovely poem. I honor and respect you. Samina.)

© Samina Iqbal. 2014

About saminaiqbal27

I am a free lance writer who loves to write on social issues in particular. I am a house wife and my husband Dr. Shams Iqbal offers all the support and encouragement so that I can pursue my passion for authorship and other cause which is dear to me. My lifelong mission in life is to offer my support for the police officers who need to be supported and protected by general public like us. My inspiration to do this comes from my personal experiences of some of the greatest police officers whom I have witnessed do great deeds for the good of humanity. I am so inspired and fascinated to support this law enforcement group. On the other hand I like music, movies specially classics, I am a fashion geek, English and American literature are my passions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “When I was young my Father said the only two great professions in life were that of Policeman or a Fireman,” says John J. Rigo, Texas’ Poet and Commentator.

  1. beautiful! very lovely interview and thoughts Sam.

    Like

  2. Maxima says:

    Beautiful! With love maxima

    Like

  3. Thanks so much my friend for the lovely appreciation. Take care and God bless.

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on Texas Poetry and commented:
    In 2014 there have been many ReBlogs of my past poetry and especially my now past Commentary’s regarding community, the nation and our world. Of all of these, this posting in my honor by this WordPress Blogger brought me the most humble of honor. What an awesome site this woman has in support of police personnel around the world. It is truly at a time, that this kind of praise for our police departments around the world is badly needed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

