Police Officers Job-Most Valued and Esteemed Job.

Awkward

Police Officers

The job of police officers is one of the most valued and esteemed jobs all over the world. They are perceived as heroes who are presumed to fight injustice and uphold peace and harmony in society. Whenever there is violence, larceny, burglary, and other problems, we are always confident that the police officer will come to our rescue.

“We have an incredible warrior class in this country-people in law enforcement, intelligence-and I thank God every night we have them standing fast to protect us from the tremendous amount of evil that exists in the world.” Brad Thor

“Not Just a Symbol”

1rcmp1

B102

 

The young man came forward, his face drawn and sad
And he held out his hand, displaying his badge.
The old chief rocked slowly and put his hands in his lap
And shook his head gently, and said, “What is this crap?”

The young cop sniffed, and from his eye wiped a tear,
“I’ve given you my best for almost one year.
But I make no difference, as I once thought I could,
There is far more evil out there than is good.”

The old chief stared up into the young rookie’s eyes
And tried to recall something clever and wise.
“Tell me” he said, to the once eager young cop.
“How many DUIs in a year have you popped?”

“Forty-two,” the rookie replied with great pride.
“And had you not, how many more might have died?
It’s not how many are arrested, now, is it?
It’s how many less accident scenes you must visit.”

The kid hung his head, and flexed his strong hands,
“But, sir,” he said, softly,” You don’t understand.
“We’re greatly outnumbered, the drugs are the worst,
The schools are like hell and the streets , they are cursed.”

“Dealers breed like damn roaches. On the kids, they all prey,
And even when arrested, they are out the next day.”
The old chief set his jaw, and tapped a red finger,
And on the young cop, his eyes sadly lingered.

“If one little kid cannot get connected,
If one pregnant junkie finds the strength to reject it,
If one lousy addict decides he can beat it,
If one crack-head in a million says I just don’t need it . . .

Then you have removed his greatest temptation,
If only for a night, it might be his salvation,
And wars are not won by those who say: Screw it.
They are won by the men who decide they can do it.

The rookie pulled up an old wooden chair
And running a hand through his shock of brown hair,
“But what about the children and poor battered wives?
Why can’t we stop it and fix all those lives?”

“Each time you set foot in that same, run-down house
Each time you go back to bust that same dirty louse,
For the children and wife, the violence has ceased,
If for only a few hours, you offer them peace.”

“You cannot dictate their sad chosen path,
You cannot stop his booze-laden wrath,
You can’t pack their belongings and cart them away
But you can prevent murder for just one more day.”

“But sir,” he said, his heart heavy like lead,
“I know there are dirtbags who wish I were dead,
But the public, the press, the politicians fling mud,
And who says thank you when we shed some blood?”

The chief pursed his lips, his answer unknown
For he knew it was this pain that hurt to the bone,
“There’s no easy answers for the ache that you feel,
But appreciation and praise just ain’t part of the deal.”

The respect, gratitude and admiration, too
Will not come from people who can’t do what we do.
You ask for a sense of honor and pride,
My advice, my son, is to look deep down inside.”

The young cop stared down at the badge in his hand
And he knew he would not resign as he planned,
For he saw the badge now as not just something he does,
It was not just a symbol . . . It’s what he was.

(Author unknown)

marching-rcmp-303

marching-rcmp-303

155960.ME.0129.Grads.IK

155960.ME.0129.Grads.IK

© Samina Iqbal. 2014

About saminaiqbal27

I am a free lance writer who loves to write on social issues in particular. I am a house wife and my husband Dr. Shams Iqbal offers all the support and encouragement so that I can pursue my passion for authorship and other cause which is dear to me. My lifelong mission in life is to offer my support for the police officers who need to be supported and protected by general public like us. My inspiration to do this comes from my personal experiences of some of the greatest police officers whom I have witnessed do great deeds for the good of humanity. I am so inspired and fascinated to support this law enforcement group. On the other hand I like music, movies specially classics, I am a fashion geek, English and American literature are my passions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Police Officers Job-Most Valued and Esteemed Job.

  1. sedge808 says:

    excellent post.
    i agree too.

    Like

  2. Yoshiko says:

    Though I wish to be a police officer, my physique doesn’t allow me

    >

    Like

  3. Ed says:

    The RCMP have the best uniforms…. great post..:-)

    Like

  4. Excellent post. You know, these men and women face the chance of death every day in order to keep the order. For those who don’t respect and honor them, I would like to see how the disorder would prevail were it not for them! I think police officers and fire fighters are courageous human beings and I am grateful for their REAL service to us all. I wish the politicians were as true.

    Like

  5. Indira says:

    Great post samina. Here in India we always talk about their taking bribe, cruelty etc but keep quiet when they do praise worthy job. Very inspiring post.

    Like

  6. Fantastic post Samina! Loved it. Hope all is well there!
    take care.

    Like

  7. This is a very beautiful and moving post Samina. If you weren’t a writer you would have made a great counselor,🙂 Your caring heart is appreciated world-wide. Blessings,

    Like

    • WOW! Thanks so much Ellie for such a lovely comment. It inspires me and encourages me to do even better. You have a lovely, caring heart Ellie, your beautiful soul shines through your posts. Take care and God bless my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

