Legislating Against Cyber Bullying

A great article and great news for Canadians. There is more good happening regarding cyber bullying in Canada . We are very hopeful. Samina

Walking the Social Media Beat

Kudos to the Canadian Province of Nova Scotia for introducing legislation to attack cyber bullying.  That is a very noble and much-needed law to help protect the vulnerable and the abused.  I applaud the attempt but, I also have real concerns with the legislation, the least of which, this is a Provincial piece of legislation, not a Federal one.

Given the number of suicides, injuries and serious life impacts that have occurred because of this issue, perhaps a real effort needs to be made to help protect.

I see failures in law start when an interpretation of a broad nature has to be applied.  In this case, who is to say what cyber bullying is?  According the legislation, the definition is:

“…typically repeated or with continuing effect, that is intended or ought reasonably be expected to cause fear, intimidation, humiliation, distress or other damage or harm to another person’s health…

View original post 682 more words

About saminaiqbal27

I am a free lance writer who loves to write on social issues in particular. I am a house wife and my husband Dr. Shams Iqbal offers all the support and encouragement so that I can pursue my passion for authorship and other cause which is dear to me. My lifelong mission in life is to offer my support for the police officers who need to be supported and protected by general public like us. My inspiration to do this comes from my personal experiences of some of the greatest police officers whom I have witnessed do great deeds for the good of humanity. I am so inspired and fascinated to support this law enforcement group. On the other hand I like music, movies specially classics, I am a fashion geek, English and American literature are my passions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Legislating Against Cyber Bullying

  1. cyber bullying is horrible and it should be crushed down mercilessly

    Like

    • Yes and We here are so proud that first our police was working with the schools and parents to take care of this matter and now the province of Nova Scotia has passed a legislation against cyber bullying which is superb. Now police will get powers to deal with these bullies and punish them. It is a big step. I agree these bullies should be crushed mercilessly. Take care my friend.

      Like

  2. Bee says:

    Please accept this award nomination http://barbmca.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/encouraging-awards/ You do great work

    Like

  3. YES, you really do.and I don’t even live in Canada but in the US!!!

    Like

    • My friend thank you so much. Although I am Canadian but my blog stands to speak for the police forces of both Canada and United States. As you must have seen the combined flag of both these superb countries on my side bar. My articles carry the pictures and values of both the countries. Since I love them both as most of the Candians do. Anything good that takes place whether in Canada or US becomes part of my blog. My most blogger friends and followers are from US and Canada. I honor and respect them both. Thanks for a lovely comment and have a lovely long weekend my friend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

