Police officer’s Sublime Role In Society-Highly misunderstood By Us

5723512-bin

Honorable RCMP Commissioner Bob Paulson

“Study me as much as you like,

you will not know me,

For I differ in a hundred ways  from what you see  me to be.

Put yourself behind my eyes,

and see me as I see myself.

For I have chosen to dwell in a place you cannot see.”

(Maulana Jalaludin Rumi)

The higher purpose of a Police Officer’s life and commitment to serve and protect with a

warrior mentality has never been fully understood by us. The Police Officer will fight, injure, kill and even sacrifice his/her own life for the defense of the citizens, even if to save just one person. Sadly, after so many sacrifices the Police Officer remains unwelcomed and removes himself from the society of people. Though selflessly interjected into the world of violence, he does not hope for a reward, recognition or inclusion.

Searching for the criminals who harm the

Sacrifice

Sacrifice (Photo credit: Bernt Rostad)

innocent, Personal sacrifice, and upholding social harmony are the Police Officer’s sense of contentment. Loneliness, Exclusion, and Misunderstanding are the Police Officer’s sacrifices. He continues in his noble purpose of protecting us for that is his honorable mission.

© Samina Iqbal 2013

RCMP Police Officers standing at attention.

RCMP Police Officers standing at attention.

About saminaiqbal27

I am a free lance writer who loves to write on social issues in particular. I am a house wife and my husband Dr. Shams Iqbal offers all the support and encouragement so that I can pursue my passion for authorship and other cause which is dear to me. My lifelong mission in life is to offer my support for the police officers who need to be supported and protected by general public like us. My inspiration to do this comes from my personal experiences of some of the greatest police officers whom I have witnessed do great deeds for the good of humanity. I am so inspired and fascinated to support this law enforcement group. On the other hand I like music, movies specially classics, I am a fashion geek, English and American literature are my passions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Police officer’s Sublime Role In Society-Highly misunderstood By Us

  1. Maxima says:

    I like this post have nice day!

    Like

  2. willowdot21 says:

    This so true, I can remember when we were younger and sometimes even now we could clear a room, question to my sister in law and my husband, answers detective police, investigative customs officer!! …some people don’t try to know you! hey ho , retired now but I know that feel of old! ..Great post point well made!! HugsXXXXX

    Like

  3. Thanks so much for liking the post Willow. This is so true, the real role of the Police Officer has never been understood. I think with the communication we have these days, maybe people will try to stop for a while and appreciate what our protectors do for us. Take care and keep the inspiration going.

    Like

  4. This post is beautiful, Samina…just beautiful! So much truth in your words and written from the heart, I love it! Have a great weekend!

    Like

    • Thank a million Jill for such a lovely and encouraging comment. You always make my day. I admit everything I write for the Police Officers comes from the bottom of my heart. I feel very passionate about my desire to educate my friends about the role of our protectors in safeguarding us against every harm even if it comes at the cost of their lives. We must appreciate and honor and understand them, this is the least we can do. Have a lovely weekend my friend. May God bless you and protect you always. Amen.

      Like

  5. SerachShiro says:

    Great post Samina and I love the passion with which you write 🙂 !

    Like

  6. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    what a wonderful read your post is…
    Thank you for sharing with me/us….
    Take Care….
    )0(
    maryrose

    Like

    • Thank you so much for such kind words of appreciation my friend. These words inspire me to do even better. Thanks for the visit and the wonderful comment. Take care and have a lovely weekend.

      Like

  7. Stefania says:

    This is a great post!
    I have great respect for the Police Officer’s.
    Thank you for sharing.
    Have a wonderful Sunday and many blessings.

    Big hugs with much love,
    Stefania! 🙂

    Like

    • A million thanks Stefania for liking this post. I am so glad to hear that we share our respect for the Police Officers who do so much for us. Take care and God bless my friend. HugsXXXXX and love.

      Like

  8. its a big truth samina, we will never know the mentality of a warrior or a sportsman-

    Like

    • Yes it is tragic that the warrior mentality with which the Police Officer protects us is not understood or appreciated by us. Thanks for the nice comment my friend.

      Like

      • I guess one have to have that strait a bit in oneself to understand it!

        Like

      • It is a complex topic and I would be covering the concept in my other upcoming posts. It is a hit topic here in North America. Actually what a soldier does in a war to protect the nation the same a police officer does within the country to protect the people. They are both on war footing and what it takes for both of them to put their lives on line for us. One has to think about it. This is the extreme nobility of their profession which most of us do not understand at times. Thanks and I always look forward to your comments. Take care my friend.

        Like

  9. I Posted a comment in this post yesterday, from another blog of mine! will you check the spam folder? please!

    Like

    • Yes I found it and its right here. I don’t know how it got into that folder. This is the first time I have checked the spam folder, and from now onwards I will check it regularly. Thanks for letting me know Sharmishtha.

      Like

      • I check my spam folders every day, quite often the comments from my friends are retrieved from there 🙂

        Like

      • Thanks and now I will be checking it regularly. Yesterday when I checked I found quite a few comments of praise for the blog and I have retrieved them along with your comment. Thanks for letting me know. You take care and have a lovely day.

        Like

  10. l admire your posts .Each one has a certain massage an eye opener.Thank you Samina for your likes and visits.Be blessed always.jalal

    Like

  11. Ed says:

    Great post..:-)

    Like

  12. reocochran says:

    I liked the quote, although I really want others to “know” me. But this person is also expressing that no one can know you except you!

    Like

    • OH! I would love to be your teacher here since literature is my true field. The gist of the quote is that the person is saying that if you study me from a distance you will never know me since I am different than the usual stereotype of profiles on which you will judge me, but if you really want to know me put your self behind my eyes or it means the same as put yourself in my shoes and think what I am, only then you will understand me. As we apply to the police officer’ s commitment to protect us, do we really know why would he fight so hard to even lose his life for us. Or apply it for a soldier who knows he will lose his life in protecting the Nation. But he never gives it a second thought and fights to protect us. What kind of a mental set up is this, to give life for others. Unless we put ourselves in the police officers shoes and the soldier’s shoe we will never understand their commitment. Once we understand that we would honor and respect them much more than we do now. Sorry explanation got long but I hope I was able to throw the light on the quote in relation to the police officer’s commitment to serve and protect. Take care my friend and have a lovely day.

      Like

  13. reocochran says:

    Wonderful explanation! Thank you so much for the time, sometimes you need to know more to understand where the meaning comes from! Thanks, also, for lovely comments on my posts! Have a lovely day and weekend! Enjoy!

    Like

  14. Ajaytao2010 says:

    Eid Mubarak didi

    Like

  15. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    This is your second post I’ve read on police officers. I see you have a lot of revere for them. A wonderful post indeed, very proud.

    Like

Leave a Reply

