A picture’s worth a thousand words…and possible jail time

This article deals with the issues which effect us all in our everyday life. The lack of knowledge can have devastating consequences for us . It is a must read for all parents and children. All thanks to honorable Chief Silverii for posting such articles on current issues which educate us about the lurking dangers for our children. Samina

Scott Silverii, PhD

story image

A picture’s worth a thousand words…and possible jail time

NOTE: Another great collaborative article between the Thibodaux Police Department and Samantha Morgan at NBC33 Baton Rouge.

THIBODAUX, LA (NBC33) – Love can make even the most mature person do crazy things. Unfortunately, technology has created a growing problem among teens and young adults that can have very serious consequences.

“When dealing with kids, they’re sending pictures to each other because they don’t think about the long-term consequences,” David Melancon, Thibodaux Police Department, explained.

“When young people are in relationships, they think they love that person and they are going to be together forever. But when the breakup happens, the other person ends up with compromising photos of you.”

Although sending sexually explicit photos to a significant other is not a problem specific to teens, it is a unique situation that could lead to criminal charges.

“What many people do not know…

View original post 699 more words

About saminaiqbal27

I am a free lance writer who loves to write on social issues in particular. I am a house wife and my husband Dr. Shams Iqbal offers all the support and encouragement so that I can pursue my passion for authorship and other cause which is dear to me. My lifelong mission in life is to offer my support for the police officers who need to be supported and protected by general public like us. My inspiration to do this comes from my personal experiences of some of the greatest police officers whom I have witnessed do great deeds for the good of humanity. I am so inspired and fascinated to support this law enforcement group. On the other hand I like music, movies specially classics, I am a fashion geek, English and American literature are my passions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A picture’s worth a thousand words…and possible jail time

  1. Thanks for sharing this post, Samina. It certainly is a must read for any parent of teenagers. Unfortunately, these kids don’t realize the long term repercussions of their actions. Have a wonderful Sunday!

    Like

    • Yes Jill this problem is becoming widespread and teens have committed suicides because of the blackmail on the Internet. I do hope sense prevails in the teen community and they learn from such horrible incidents and become careful in what they do on the web. Have a lovely Sunday Jill.

      Like

  2. this awareness should be spread all over the internet! so that more and more kids read it and realize the danger of these activities!

    I have learned my lessons in a harsh way, but not nightmarish way like so many of them learn!

    Like

    • You are so right sharmishtha kids must learn the lessons which are blasted over the television, Internet and all sources but unfortunately the situation does not improve as expected. Some schools in Canada have direct access to Police where children can report without fear if someone is threatening them or bullying them. Police has become quite involved after some suicides of teens. General awareness is there. Lets hope things improve more. It is I think better to learn the lesson and come out alive. God bless you and may God erase all bad memories from our minds. Amen.

      Like

      • harassment on internet can reach the level of monstrosity, we are lucky that we have been spared of it, I was a very sensitive child, I might have ended up killing myself if I had to face the level of harassment some of these kids do!

        police, schools and parents should take instant action

        Like

      • I do agree with you situation nowadays has reached dangerous heights. We can hope it will improve as Police, parents and schools are getting more and more involved.

        Like

  3. Great and eye opening post.Thank you Samina for liking my post ( Null and void) My regards to you and your Husband .Jalal

    Like

  4. Maxima says:

    I like this post. my friend have nice day

    Like

Leave a Reply

