A police officer’s extraordinary range of capacities-a glimpse

English: Virgil Reading the Aeneid to Augustus...

English: Virgil Reading the Aeneid to Augustus, Octavia, and Livia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

“How can I match,

 

Your godly nobleness with my praise?”

 

(Virgil, The Aeneid, Bk. XI, Lines 825-827)

 

You Just don’t despair,

 

I promise that I’ll be there.

 

When a woman cries, and a defenseless child arrives,

 

with no fortification or guardianship or care,

 

No dreams of a happy tomorrow, no hopes for today,

 

I’ll be your parent-figure, Little one, you just don’t despair,

 

I promise that I’ll be there.

 

 

I will end the tradition of eternities,

 

Whereby a woman must endure the bitter realities,

 

And is mortified and confined, I will liberate her, Since no one can even attempt or even dare,

 

I’ll be an agent of change, Young lady, you just don’t despair,

 

I promise that I’ll be there.

 

 

Whenever there is a household, suffering in seclusion, due to famishment,

 

substance abuse, moral decay or intoxication, Everyone else thinks the situation is beyond repair,

 

I’ll be your therapist, Unfortunate folks, you just don’t despair,

 

I promise that I’ll be there.

 

 

Whenever there is a child so lonesome, crying tears of pain, weak, feeble, and forsaken,

 

Holding out his tiny arms, if anyone, Would embrace him and proffer some care,

 

I’ll be your care-giver,

 

O” Little angel, you just don’t despair,

 

I promise that I’ll be there.

 

 

Whenever there is an aged and friendless man, Deserted by loved ones and his clan,

 

Maligned by the ravages of age,

 

I will offer him companionship and care,

 

Honorable Sir, you just don’t despair,

 

I promise that I’ll be there.

 

 

Whenever a woman will become, Victim of domestic violence, and will succumb,

 

I will guard and defend her and offer, The complete comfort and my prayer,

 

I’ll be your community leader,

 

My sister, you just don’t despair,

 

I promise that I’ll be there.

 

 

Whenever an adolescent suffers, From harassment, intimidation and fears,

 

Feels unshielded against the vicious world of heartless peers,

 

With no one to offer counsel and care, I’ll be your mentor,

 

My child, you just don’t despair,

 

I promise that I’ll be there.

 

 

Whenever there is an impoverished soul, Quivering with chill and shattered as a whole,

 

I’ll offer him warmness and serve him food, His stories of misfortune and agony, I’ll share,

 

I’ll be your care-taker,

 

My friend, you just don’t despair,

 

I promise that I’ll be there.

 

 

When nights are murky, and the streets are perilous, I’ll give you security and defense,

 

And will put my life on-line for you, Since it’s in me and I care,

 

I’ll be your guardian angel,

 

My fellow citizens, you just don’t despair,

 

I promise that I’ll be there.

 

 

If in the line of duty, in the midst of a fight for you, I lose my life for you,

 

Defending and guarding you,

 

And after me, my family needs help,

 

Your concern and care, in their time of despair

 

Can you promise that you’ll be there?

 

 

If I’m enveloped by dispute, I’m blamed, and scorned, With every door sealed, and all hope gone,

 

With no one to console me, And no one to care,

 

My stories of pain and agony, none to share,

 

Can I count on you?

 

Can you promise that you’ll be there?

 

 

If I become ill in the line of duty, And don’t stay as healthy,

 

Agile, young, and strong, In times of annihilation and total despair,

 

Can I count on you,

 

Can you promise that you’ll be there?

 

Can you promise that you’ll be there?

 

 

Painting by Jean-Joseph Taillasson: Virgil rea...

Painting by Jean-Joseph Taillasson: Virgil reading the Aeneid to Augustus and Octavia. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I close my free verse poem with a very haunting and alarming thought that when a police officer who does so much for us, and we have this assurance that he will never forsake us in our hour of need, and would even sacrifice his life for us, Can we promise him our support? Or is there any guarantee that if he or his family necessitates our support we will be there for them? Never even once we stop to think that we should offer help and support to some one who never turns his/her back on us when we need him/her. Let us make this pledge in our hearts and with ourselves today that we will at least think about this hovering question. He who does not work for the gratification of his self but works tirelessly and endlessly for the betterment of humanity, Can we become his support, in his hour of need or even otherwise? The question is whether we will be there for him or not? I leave you today with this soul-searching question.

 

(C) Samina Iqbal and saminaiqbal27.wordpress.com. 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Samina Iqbal and saminaiqbal27.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to original content.

 

About saminaiqbal27

I am a free lance writer who loves to write on social issues in particular. I am a house wife and my husband Dr. Shams Iqbal offers all the support and encouragement so that I can pursue my passion for authorship and other cause which is dear to me. My lifelong mission in life is to offer my support for the police officers who need to be supported and protected by general public like us. My inspiration to do this comes from my personal experiences of some of the greatest police officers whom I have witnessed do great deeds for the good of humanity. I am so inspired and fascinated to support this law enforcement group. On the other hand I like music, movies specially classics, I am a fashion geek, English and American literature are my passions.
This entry was posted in "How can I, match your godly nobleness with praise?" Virgil, The Aeneid Bk. X1 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A police officer’s extraordinary range of capacities-a glimpse

  1. Pingback: Author’s quote February 27, 2013 | Samina's Forum for police support

  2. This is so moving and beautiful

    Like

  3. reocochran says:

    This was such a great piece of writing, Samina! You gave all kinds of examples of when people need help, and always the police respond and do their best at all times! Wonderful talent shown here in this and I love the quotation from the past to ‘kick it off.’ Smiles, Robin

    Like

Leave a Reply

