I’m A Standing Guard In The Line Of Duty For I am A POLICE OFFICER.

 My duty is whatsoever

the moment in time,

summonses for me.

Readiness is all, for me.

I’m standing proud and tall,

Where I can catch my Call.

 My ecstasy and my

moral obligations,

Are inseparable companions

As straight is my line

of duty,

 No curves no fantasy.

↔ 

As the wise say

Incoming fire has a

right of way,

So behind me, you stay, 

 Your enemy is in my range

I will be in his way.

↔ 

I’m a commander in the field

I know that I am right.

Let me be your guide,

and your lead.

I will not let you give up

Without an honest fight.

↔ 

The power that I’m

blessed with,

Is the test of my greatness.

So worthy for me to muse,

A longer life I do not choose

Over a life of nobleness.

↔ 

I will walk you

through safe passages,

Hold on to me, wipe your tears  

Let go of your continual fears,

Since Trustworthiness is

the Essence of my being.

↔ 

My integrity, my valor

Are my virtues, and my bliss,

All for you.

I am your hero with the yen

To safeguard and protect your life,

At whatever the price.

© Samina Iqbal. 2014

 

About Samina Iqbal

I am a free lance writer who loves to write on social issues in particular. I am a house wife and my husband Dr. Shams Iqbal offers all the support and encouragement so that I can pursue my passion for authorship and other cause which is dear to me. My lifelong mission in life is to offer my support for the police officers who need to be supported and protected by general public like us. My inspiration to do this comes from my personal experiences of some of the greatest police officers whom I have witnessed do great deeds for the good of humanity. I am so inspired and fascinated to support this law enforcement group. On the other hand I like music, movies specially classics, I am a fashion geek, English and American literature are my passions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to I’m A Standing Guard In The Line Of Duty For I am A POLICE OFFICER.

  1. just loved it samina. what a beautiful poem. a lovely glimpse in the heart of a true officer.

  2. This is beautiful, Samina. You are so talented. “At whatever the price.” I love this line, so strong and so true.

    • Thanks Jill for your lovely input as usual. Your kind and appreciating words always cheer me up. The last line appealed to me as well. Every time I read it, it grips my heart. May God keep our protectors safe and secure always for us and their loved ones. Amen. Take care my friend and God bless.

  3. Samina, great post! As a police officer in the US, I must ask what divisions or rank wear those snazzy red uniforms? The hat alone screams “class.” And please, would you or an officer from RCMP consider writing a post for my website so that writers here in the US have a greater understanding of what it is like to be an officer in Canada? Thanks as always and continued success!

    • Hi Joe. Thanks for your kind words about my post. Rcmp was founded in 1920. Their rank system illustrates their origin as a paramilitary force. The insignia were based upon the Canadian Army of the time, which is identical to that of the current British Army. The female officer in the scarlet tunic wears a crown over two bath stars on her shoulder. She is Chief Superintendent. Her rank is equivalent to a Colonel’s rank. ( the bath stars represent the military knight Grand Cross of the order of the Bath). The two male officers wear no insignia on their shoulders, they are Constables. And yes RCMP are famous for their distinctive dress uniform popularly known as the “Red Surge”. On normal duties, RCMP uses standard police uniforms. the Red Surge is of the standard British Military Pattern. The classy wide Stetson is part of the ceremonial uniform and was adopted in 1904. I would be very pleased to do a post on RCMP for your website. My research begins now. I love the topic that you have chosen for the guest post on my blog, the cultural differences of UK police and US police. Thanks for honoring me with your visit and your good wishes. Take care and God bless.

  4. that red uniform really looks very elegant! :)

  5. Such an inspiring poem!

    Diana
    http://www.ManhattanImageandStyle.com
    New Blog Post: [Outfit Idea] A Trendy Day

  6. Thanks Diana for a lovely comment. You take care and God bless.

  7. Morguie says:

    Here in California we recently lost a pair of fine highway patrolmen responding to an accident scene…so sad. Thank you Samina for honoring those who protect and serve.

    • I feel very sad to hear the tragic news. God bless their souls. Lives lost in the line of duty in this way hurt us all. Our protectors need to be supported and honored in the best possible way that we can. Thanks Morguie for your kind visit and for sharing the news of our protectors’ sacrifice. Take care and God bless.

  8. reocochran says:

    This was so well written, Samina. I would have to take a month to capture all the special characteristics in this form of poetry. You showed honor, respect and shared the responsibilities of the ones who “Stand Guard” and protect us everyday! Thanks for this powerful and beautiful message! Hugs, Robin

    • You are so kind and generous in your appreciation my friend. Knowing your abilities as a writer I have no doubt you would do a much better job in a shorter period of time. All one needs is a passion for what one is writing about. Thanks a million for honoring me for my passion Robin. You take care and God bless.

      • reocochran says:

        Thank you for the compliment, Samina! But I am more of an essayist and would have struggled mightily with this idea for a poem! Yours flows beautifully and has lovely passages within it! Smiles, Robin

  9. This is a beautiful poem to honor police officers who stand ahead of us to protect and guide.
    A fitting tribute, Samina.

    • Thanks Elaine, your kind words of appreciation make me feel very proud. No words can befit the enormous protection and guidance that our protectors provide us, we can try to honor them as best as we can. It was a humble effort on my part. You take care and God bless.

  10. Bless you, Samina, for your thoughtful, complete, real and respectful posts about police officers. As the mother-in-law of a small town police officer who serves faithfully, professionally, kindly and often bravely, I appreciate you and your blog VERY much!

    • Thanks Merylin for sending blessings my way. Your beautiful, kind words always make me feel elated and proud of my blog. You are so blessed to have a son in law who serves and protects the people in his community and makes his loved ones proud of him. Bless him and may God always protect and safeguard him. Amen. Thanks again for your lovely words of appreciation, they make my passion even more stronger. Take care and God bless.

  11. nine days… no post… very bad!

    • I know, I know I was a lot busy and totally forgot so many days have passed. Thanks for reminding me my sweet friend. I will post in a day or two. You take care and God bless.

  12. afsheenanjum says:

    Superb and inspiring..

  13. Hi Samina,impressive post .God bless the peace officers for their sacrifices to keep people safe.My regards.

Leave a Reply

